UPCEA Announces 2015 Association Award Recipients

14 Individuals and 6 Programs Receive Association’s Highest Honors
WASHINGTON, Mar. 17 - UPCEA, the leader in professional, continuing, and online education, has announced the recipients of the 2015 Association Awards. The UPCEA Association Awards program includes recognition of both individual and institutional achievement across the UPCEA membership.
Since 1953, UPCEA has recognized its members’ outstanding contributions to the Association and the field, as well as their achievements in innovative programming, marketing and promotion, community development and services, research and publications, and many other areas.
Award recipients will be honored at the UPCEA 100th Annual Conference, on March 31 in Washington, D.C.
The recipients of this year’s awards are as follows:
Julius M. Nolte Award for Extraordinary Leadership is given to an individual in recognition of unusual and extraordinary contributions to the cause of continuing education on the regional, national, and/or international level.
Recipient: James Shaeffer, Old Dominion University
Walton S. Bittner Service Citation for Outstanding Service in UPCEA expresses appreciation to a member for outstanding contributions to continuing education at his or her institution, and for service of major significance to UPCEA.
Recipient: Jennifer Wooley, Georgia Institute of Technology
Adelle F. Robertson Continuing Professional Educator Award recognizes the scholarship, leadership and contributions to the profession of a person who has entered the field within the past five to ten years.
Recipient: Karen Smith, Kennesaw State University
Phillip E. Frandson Award for Literature recognizes the author and publisher of an outstanding work of continuing higher education literature.
Recipients: Sharan B. Merriam and Laura L. Bierema, Adult Learning; Linking Theory and Practice
Dorothy Durkin Award for Strategic Innovation in Marketing and Enrollment Management recognizes an individual for achievement in strategic planning, marketing innovation or enrollment management success.
Recipient: Stacy Snow, University of Missouri
Leadership in Diversity Award recognizes an individual or a program representing best practices in promoting the educational success of diverse students.
Recipient: The William and Ida Friday Center for Continuing Education, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Excellence in Teaching Award is presented to individuals who have provided outstanding teaching, course development, mentoring of students, and service to continuing education.
Recipient: Neil Diercks, Berklee College of Music
Outstanding Continuing Education Student: Credit Award recognizes outstanding student achievement in professional and continuing education.
Recipient: Gita Seleh, University of Maryland University College
Outstanding Continuing Education Student: Noncredit Award recognizes outstanding student achievement in professional and continuing education.
Recipient: Moises Arroyo, Kennesaw State University
Outstanding Program:Credit Award recognizes outstanding professional and continuing education programs allowing students to earn academic credit.
Recipient: Statewide Cooperative EdD Program, University of Missouri
Outstanding Program: Noncredit Award recognizes outstanding professional and continuing education pro­grams that do not offer credit.
Recipients: Steve Sinclair and Sherry Foldvary, California State University, Northridge, Speech Language Pathology Assistant (SLPA) Fieldwork Experience Program
UPCEA International Leadership Award recognizes an individual for representing innovative leadership in facilitating international professional and continuing education.
Recipient: Kristine Billmyer, Columbia University
UPCEA International Program of Excellence Award recognizes a program engaged in activities that promote the exchange of knowledge and ideas of global significance. Recipients:
Mapuche Project, St. Cloud State University
Proyetca 100K, California State University, Sacramento, International Programs
UPCEA 11th Hour Award for Leadership in Times of Crisis is given to an individual, team or unit in recognition of exemplary character, ethics, and decisive action in times of crisis.
Recipient: Center for Continuing and Professional Education, Georgetown University
UPCEA Award for Excellence in Advancing Student Success recognizes an individual or program for advancing the success of students in both credit and non-credit programs.
Recipient: Marie Cini, University of Maryland University College
UPCEA Award for Strategic Innovation in Online Education recognizes an institution of higher education that has set and met innovative goals focused on online education and been strategic in the planning, development, implementation and sustainability in line with the institutional mission.
Recipient: Roger Brown, Berklee College of Music
UPCEA Engagement Award recognizes an outstanding mutually-beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources between a UPCEA member institution and one or more external constituents such as local communities, corporations, government organizations, or associations.
Recipients: Wentworth Institute of Technology and IBEW Local 103

# # #

UPCEA is the association for professional, continuing, and online education. Founded in 1915, UPCEA now serves most of the leading public and private colleges and universities in North America. With innovative conferences and specialty seminars, research and benchmarking information, professional networking opportunities and timely publications, we support our members’ service of contemporary learners and commitment to quality online education and student success. Based in Washington, D.C., UPCEA builds greater awareness of the vital link between adult learners and public policy issues.